FBLA students qualify for Nationals

Fourteen FBLA OTHS Students qualify for Nationals and many other awards earned at the FBLA State Conference in Springfield, illinois

Thirty-one students traveled to Springfield, Illinois on March 24-25 to represent O’Fallon Township High School at the FBLA State Conference. These students competed in a variety of individual and team events against 65 other FBLA chapters attending the conference. Approximately 1,400 members, advisers, and guests attended the conference. The conference was two fun-filled and educational days featuring workshops, competitive events, and election of the new state officers.

Students from the OTHS Chapter competed in 23 different events and brought home awards in 18 of them.  Awards in Individual and Team events were earned by the following:
Tenth place was earned by Jordyn Thompson in Organizational Leadership and a team consisting of Carson Bair, Ashton Hess, and Sydney Wangerin in Introduction to Business Presentation. Bringing home a 9th place award was Paris Grady in Public Speaking II. Seventh place awards were earned by Austin Halverson in Business Communications, Dylan Hughs in FBLA Principles and Procedures, and a team consisting of Ryan Hurst, Campbell Zimmerman, Nick Longhorn in Business Plan. Grant Appel earned 6th place in Agribusiness. Matthew Doyle brought home a 5th place award in Computer Problem Solving.

Fourteen students qualified for Nationals in their competitive event.  The FBLA National Conference will be held in Anaheim, California this summer. Fourth place awards were earned by Raquel Brown in Accounting I, Eboni Acoff in Client Service, Kersten Douglas in Job Interview, and Tamia Smith in Public Speaking I. Third place awards were earned by Spencer Woll in Business Calculations and Thaddeus Breaux in Business Law. Also earning third place was the Emerging Business Issues team comprised of Grace Appel, Jillian Gasser, and Abby Wangerin and the Business Ethics team with Alisha Lester, Jasmine Strong, and Tiara Saverson. A second place award was captured by Jasmyn Harris in Word Processing. And a first place award was brought home by Vicky Birchem in Spreadsheet Applications.

In addition, each year the Mary E Webb award is given to an advisor for their outstanding service to FBLA. Mrs. Appel was honored and presented with the Mary E. Webb award at the Opening Session of the conference.

Future Business Leaders of America – Phi Beta Lambda is a non-profit, national organization that prepares students for careers in business and business education. It is the largest student organization in the world with over 250,000 members. Its mission is to bring business and education together in a positive working relationship through innovative leadership and career development programs. To learn more, visit FBLA-PBL’s web site at www.fbla-pbl.org

Share Button